Uno Noteband Wearable Tech

I used to really go out of my way to paint even the least-together or not-quite-ready-for-prime-time companies in the best light. As the years wore on, people who didn’t even try or brought some junk product to market, bought by the gross and rebranded for sale to somewhat distinguish them from the identical competitor product bought from the exact same supplier wore me down. This is none of those, but my worldweariness about the way it played out is palpable at this point.

DSC_1103

It took the Uno Noteband forever to get from concept to sale. lots of changes were made, and a few promises broken. But in the end, a few of us got a band to try out only to find the Android app wasn’t ready. And then, a couple of months later, the app finally appeared in the Google Store. Finally this neat bit of tech will do something. Except (cue tragic “waa, waaaa waaaauhhh” tune here) it didn’t work with my version of Android. A forthcoming update was promised, but those hope were misplced because now it won’t even let me download the app because it’s not designed for my Android version. I made several attempts to reach the Uno Noteband folks, but two messages in two weeks tells me I’ve got a fancy rubber and tech wristband that will light up and say hello periodically, and that’s it. I wouldn’t have paid $100 for this, and thankfully I didn’t, but cripes, guys. Get it togther already.

That’s all I can say, because without syncing the Noteband to my phone, it’s functionally useless. It promised a lot of the in fashion tech like syncing emails and social media, even some “fitbit” style features. That’s all pie in the sky and I don’t know when or if there’s any “fix” for my old phone coming my way, and since I wear out my tech to the point of uselessness, this phone has many miles to go before it sleeps. So, it’s a race to obsolescence between Uno’s Noteband and my old LG Opitmus l90. So it’ll sit in it’s pretty lucite case unil such time as I upgrade my phone. Sad, isn’t it, when a company doesn’t have the forsight to ask you what OS version is on your phone, and then stops answering when you need support. I’ll let you decide if this is a company you feel like investing in. My initial impression is “no”.

The only thing I ever read on my Noteband. :-(

The only thing I ever read on my Noteband. 😦

Connect with Uno:

I received the above product(s) free of charge from Uno Noteband . I am not obligated to provide a positive or favorable review, just my honest opinion. My review is based on my experience with the product and/or brand, which may differ from yours.

Leave a Reply

