American Golden Oak Barrel, Co.’s 2L Oak Aging Barrel

From time to time, you buy those little things that are just too cute to pass up, even if you don’t have a place for them yet, or it serves no practical purpose. This American Golden Oak Wood Barrel fits squarely into this category.

DSC_1450

I’m a sucker for things like this, but I would be remiss if I didn’t tell you that if you’re thinking of actually using it for spirits or beer, I would strongly advise against this. Primarily because it’s full of wood shavings and splinters, and the workmanship is so poor that the water we put in it to rinse it out leaked like a sieve. There’s also some issues with QC overall, because the stand had an exposed nail point that if not for Hubby’s rhino-skin, would have punctured mere mortals and left them bleeding. Now, to be fair, the amazon page claims that after “initial soaking and curing” there is a “NO LEAKS GUARANTEE” and should it leak they’ll replace it, but since I don’t plan on using it for liquor storage I’m not going to bother. It’s strictly decorational here. And it’s just adorable. Whether on a wine rack, in the kitchen, or in the dining room, it is a wonderful conversation piece, especially since the spigot and bung are both functional. There’s also a 356 day warranty and satisfaction guarantee, so if you’re looking to make this a party favor or use it for liquor, the worst that can happen is a little booze will be lost and you’ll still have a cute little knick-knack.

Like I said, my American Golden Oak Barrel (2L) did leak, and the craftsmanship was a little spotty, but since I don’t plan on using it for liquor, I was satisfied, but if your plan is to use it for it’s intended purpose, I’d be cautious and make sure you get one made a little better than mine, because I’d definitely be sending mine back if i were using it for more than decor.

DSC_1450

Connect with  American Oak Barrel, Co.:

I received the above product(s) free of charge from American Golden Oak Barrels. I am not obligated to provide a positive or favorable review, just my honest opinion. My review is based on my experience with the product and/or brand, which may differ from yours.

Leave a comment