OxyLED MD50 500 Lumen 5-Mode Flashlight Kit (battery & charger included)

ScreenHunter_03 Sep. 28 15.33

Hubby is a flashlight junkie. Has been for years. We’ve bought and tossed more cheap little flashlights than I’d care to mention. I even once broke down and bought him a nice SureFire LED flashlight. We’ve had MagLite, Ultrafire, Steamlight and Coast come through here. But still he collects all manner of flashlights from a variety of makers. So when Hisgadget offered us their OxyLED branded MD50, boasting 500 lumens, I knew I had to say yes.

DSC_0162

I’m very glad I did. Amazon and eBay are chock-full of LED flashlights, and while some are quality, a lot are just junk. And it’s very hard to tell the wheat from the chaff because they all boast similar construction and specs. When it comes down to the nuts and bolts, someone has to be the canary in the mineshaft and see if these torches are the goods. And I’m please to say the this OxyLED lamp is, in fact, the goods. By far, it is the brightest flashlight Hubby owns. It eclipses his SureFire LED that cost him 3 times as much! It is easily adjustable by sliding the reflector housing forward or back. Even at it’s widest setting, the light is still ridiculously bright, with no dead spots I could see. There’s some slight haloing around the outside edge of the beam, but it’s hardly worth mentioning. It fits comfortably in the hand, be it mine or Hubby’s girthier paw. It has a lanyard at the tailcap, and a bright green clicker there to cycle through the modes. You have high, medium and low, plus strobe and SOS for (heaven forbid) any emergency situations. The tailcap clicker is crisp, and to switch modes on the fly one only needs to lightly press on the tailcap. A full press will turn the unit off or on. The only thing I feel it’s lacking are a rubber ring near the base for easier one handed operation, or a pocket clip for easier carrying. Neither are major issues and I wouldn’t take off points for either, they’re just personal preference. OxyLED even includes a sturdy foam padded carry case, and as a bonus includes the one 18650 rechargeable Li-ion battery and charger, as well as the AAA battery holder if you choose to use those types of batteries. But the included Li-ion cell has held a charge well, and seems to show no sign of slowing down at all. For $19.99, you’re getting a lot of quality for very little money.

DSC_0165

There’s water resistant o-rings used in the assembly of this unit making it good for heavy rains, and the batteries reportedly have overcharge and over-discharge protection circuitry. It also boast a Cree XM-L2 diode, which is why it’s so bright and powerful. One complaint I did have is the flashlight gets quite warm in the hand after running it at full power for any significant time. I understand it’s putting out a lot of juice, so I’m willing to give it a pass, because it’s just been “warm” not uncomfortably so or even “hot”.

DSC_0164

 

Overall, this is a real winner and like I mentioned, you get a lot of quality for very little money. I recommend it highly!

DSC_0163

Connect with OxyLED/Hisgadget:

 

I received the above product(s) free of charge from Hisgadget.  I am not obligated to provide a positive or favorable review, just my honest opinion.  My review is based on my experience with the product and/or brand, which may differ from yours.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Last Man Survival Gear’s LED “Opti-Flood” Flashlight Set | WOM-derful

Leave a comment